So I’ve Got This AVR Emulator Partway Done…

2 07 2012

I decided to go with writing the emulator, for several reasons:

  1. It puts off the point at which I’ll start having to get serious about hardware.  Yes, I want to get into hardware, really I do, but it scares me a little: screw up software and you get an exception or a segfault; screw up hardware and you get smoke, and have to replace parts and maybe recharge the fire extinguisher.
  2. It’s going to teach me an awful lot about the microcontroller I’ll be using, if I have to write software to simulate it.
  3. It’s an excuse to write code in Scala rather than in C.

Whoa–what was that last point?  Scala?  Why would I want to write a low-level bit-twiddler in Scala?  Why not write it in a low-level language like C or C++?

If that’s your question, go read some stuff about Scala.  I can’t imagine anything that I’d rather write in C than Scala.

That said, I should point out that Scala’s support for unsigned values is–well, nonexistent.  Everything’s signed in Scala, and treating 0x94E3 as a positive number can get a little hairy if you put it in a Short.  So I wrote an UnsignedShort class to deal with that, including a couple of implicits to convert back and forth from Int, and then also an UnsignedByte class that worked out also to have a bunch of status-flag stuff in it for addition, subtraction, and exclusive-or.  (Maybe that should be somewhere else, somehow.)

Addition, subtraction, and exclusive-or?  Why just those?  Why no others?

Well, because of the way I’m proceeding.

The most important thing about an emulator, of course, is that it emulates: that is, that it acts exactly as the real part does, at least down to some small epsilon that is unavoidable because it is not in fact hardware.

So the first thing I did was to write a very simple C program in the trashy Arduino IDE that did nothing but increment a well-known memory location (0x500, if I remember correctly) by 1. I used the IDE to compile and upload the file to my ATmega2560 board, which thereupon–I assume–executed it. (Hard to tell: all it did was increment a memory location.)

Then I located the Intel .HEX format file that the IDE had sent over the wire, copied it into my project, and wrote a test to load that file into my as-yet-nonexistent emulator, set location 0x0500 to 42, run the loaded code in the emulator, and check that location 0x0500 now contained 43.  Simple, right?

Well, that test has been failing for a couple of weeks straight, now.  My mode of operation has been to run the test, look at the message (“Illegal instruction 0x940C at 0x0000FD”), use the AVR instruction set manual to figure out what instruction 0x940C is (it’s a JMP instruction), and implement that instruction.  Then I run the test again, and it works for every instruction it understands and blows up at the first one it doesn’t.  So I implement that one, and so forth.

Along the way, of course, there’s opportunity for all sorts of emergent design and refactoring.

At the moment, for instance, I’m stuck on the CALL instruction.  I have the CALL instruction tested and working just fine, but the story test fails because the stack pointer is zero–so pushing something onto the stack decrements it into negative numbers, which is a problem.  Why is the stack pointer zero?  Well, because the AVR architecture doesn’t have a specific instruction to load the stack pointer with an initial value, but it does expose the SP register as a sequence of input/output ports.  Write a byte to the correct output port, and it’ll appear as part of the two-byte stack pointer.

So I have the OUT instruction implemented, but so far (or at least until this morning), all the available input and output ports were just abstract concepts, unless you specifically connected InputRecordings or OutputRecorders to them.  The instructions to initialize the stack pointer are there in the .HEX file, but the numbers they’re writing to the I/O ports that refer to the stack pointer are vanishing into the bit bucket.  That connection between the I/O ports and the stack pointer (and an earlier one between the I/O ports (specifically 0x3F) and the status register) is more than an abstract concept, so I’m working on the idea of a Peripheral, something with special functionality that can be listed in a configuration file and hooked up during initialization to provide services like that.

Eventually, though, I’ll get the simple add application running in the emulator, by implementing all the instructions it needs and thereby all the infrastructure elements they need.

Then I plan a period for refactoring and projectization (right now the only way to build the project is in Eclipse, and you’ll find yourself missing the ScalaTest jars if you try).

After that, I want to write a fairly simple framework in C, to run on the Arduino, that will communicate with running tests on my desktop machine over the USB cable.  This framework will allow me to do two things from my tests: submit a few bytes of code to be executed and execute them; and ask questions about registers and I/O ports and SRAM and flash, and get answers to them.

Once I get that working on the Arduino (it’s going to be interesting without being able to unit-test it), I’ll grab the .HEX file for it, load it into my emulator, and go back to implementing more instructions until it runs.

After that, I’ll be able to write comparison tests for all the instructions I’ve implemented that far: use an instruction in several ways on the Arduino and make sure it operates as expected, then connect to the emulator instead of the Arduino and run the same test again.  With judiciously chosen tests, that ought to ensure to whatever small value of epsilon I’m willing to drive it to, that the emulator matches the part.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been doing with my spare time recently, in the absence of insufficiently-Agile people to pester.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

