This Test Was an Ordeal to Write

13 07 2012

I had an interesting time at work today, writing what should have been a simple nothing test.  I thought somebody might be interested in the story.

My client’s application has an entity called a Dashboard.  Before my pass through this particular section of the code, a Dashboard was simply a Name and a set of Modules.

For one reason or another, there is a business-equals operator for Dashboard that returns true if the two Dashboards it’s comparing have the same Name and the same set of Modules, false otherwise.  Simple, standard stuff.

Part of my change involved adding a preview/thumbnail Icon to Dashboard, so that the user could see, in a listing of Dashboards, approximately what the Dashboard looked like before examining it in detail.  I looked at the business-equals method and decided that the new Icon field was irrelevant to it, so I left it alone.

After completing my change, I submitted my code for review, and one of the reviewers flagged the business-equals method.  “Doesn’t check for equality of Icon,” he said.

I explained to him the point above–that Icon is irrelevant to business-equals–and he made a very good argument that I hadn’t considered.

“That makes sense,” he said, “but I didn’t notice it at first, and maybe I’m not unique.  What if somebody comes through this code someday and notices what I noticed, and in the spirit of leaving the code better than he found it, he goes ahead and puts Icon in the business-equals method?  Then we’ll start getting false negatives in production.”

I could see myself in just that role, so I understood exactly where he was coming from.

“Better put a comment in there,” he suggested, “explaining that Icon’s been left out for a reason.”

A comment? I thought to myself.  Comments suck.  I’ll write a test, that’s what I’ll do.

I’ll write a test that uses business equals to compare two Dashboards with exactly the same Name and Module set, but with different Icons, and assert that the two are declared equal.  That way, if somebody adds an Icon equality check later, that test will fail, and upon examining the failure he’ll understand that Icon was left out on purpose.  Maybe somebody has now determined that Icons are relevant to business equals, and the failing test will be deleted, but at least the change won’t be an accidental one that results in unexpected false negatives.

So I did write a test; one that looked a lot like this (C++ code, under the Qt framework).

QString name ("Name");
QPixmap p (5, 10); // tall
QPixmap q (10, 5); // wide
ModuleSet modules;
Dashboard a (name, p, modules);
Dashboard b (name, q, modules);

bool result = (a == b);

EXPECT_TRUE (result); // Google Test assertion

Elementary, right?

Well, not really.  When I ran the test, Qt segfaulted on the QPixmap constructor.  I made various minor changes and scoured Google, but nothing I tried worked: at least in the testing environment, I was unable to construct a QPixmap with dimensions.

I discovered, however, that I could construct a QPixmap with no constructor parameters just fine; that didn’t cause a segfault.  But I couldn’t make p and q both blank QPixmaps like that, because then they’d be the same and the test wouldn’t prove anything: they have to be different.

So I thought, well, why not just mock the QPixmaps?  I have Google Mock here; I’ll just write a mock with an operator==() that always returns false; then I don’t have to worry about creating real QPixmaps.

Problem is, QPixmap doesn’t have an operator==() to mock.  If that notional future developer is going to add code to compare QPixmaps, he’s going to have to do it by comparing properties manually.  Which properties?  Dunno: I’m not him.

Scratch mocking.

Well, I looked over the constructor list for QPixmap and discovered that I could create a QPixmap from a QImage, and I could create a QImage from a pair of dimensions, some binary image data, and a Format specifier (for example, bilevel, grayscale, color).  So I wrote code to create a couple of bilevel 1×1 QImages, one consisting of a single white pixel and the other consisting of a single black pixel, and used those QImages to construct a couple of unequal QPixmaps.

Cool, right?

Nope: the constructor for the first QImage segfaulted.

Cue another round of code shuffling and Googling: no joy.

Well, I’m not licked yet, I figured.  If you create .png files, and put them in a suitable place, and write an XML file describing them and their location, and refer to the XML file from the proper point in the build process, then you can create QPixmaps with strings that designate the handles of those .png files, and they’ll be loaded for you.  I had done this in a number of places already in the production code, so I knew it worked.

It was a long, arduous process, though, to set all that up.

But I’m no slacker, so I put it all together, corrected a few oversights, and ran the test.

Success!

Success?  Really?  I was suspicious.  I ran it in the debugger and stepped through that QPixmap creation.

Turns out all that machinery didn’t work; but instead of segfaulting or throwing an exception, the QPixmap constructors created blank QPixmaps–just like the parameterless version of the constructor would have–that were identical to each other; so once more, the test didn’t prove anything.

More Googling and spiking and whining to my neighbor.

This time, my neighbor discovered that there’s an object called QApplication that does a lot of global initialization in its constructor.  You create a QApplication object somewhere (doesn’t seem to matter where), and suddenly a bunch of things work that didn’t work before.

Okay, fine, so my neighbor wrote a little spike program that created a QPixmap without a QApplication.  Bam: segfault.  He modified the spike to create a QApplication before creating the QPixmap, and presto: worked just fine.

So that was my problem, I figured.  I put code to create a QApplication in the test method and ran the test.

Segfault on the constructor for QApplication.

No big deal: I moved the creation of the QApplication to the SetUp() method of the test class.

Segfault on the constructor for QApplication.

Darn.  I moved it to the initializer list for the test class’s constructor.

Segfault on the constructor for QApplication.

I moved it out of the file, into the main() class that ran the tests.

Segfault on the constructor for QApplication.

By now it was after lunch, and the day was on its way to being spent.

But I wasn’t ready to give up.  This is C, I said to myself: it has to be testable.

The business equals doesn’t ever touch Icon at all, and any code that does touch Icon should cause trouble.  That gave me an idea.

So I created two Dashboards with blank (that is, equal) Icons; then I did this to each of them:

memset (&dashboard.Icon, 0xFFFFFFFF, sizeof (dashboard.Icon));

See that?  The area of memory that contains the Icon field of dashboard, I’m overwriting with all 1 bits.  Then I verified that calling just about any method on that corrupted Icon field would produce a segfault.

There’s my test, right?  Those corrupted Icons don’t bother me, since I’m not bothering them, but if anybody changes Dashboard::operator==() to access the Icon field, that test will segfault.  Segfault isn’t nearly as nice as a formal assertion failure, but it’s a whole heck of a lot better than false negatives in production.

Well, it turned out to be close to working.  Problem was, once I was done with those corrupted QPixmaps and terminated the test, their destructors were called, and–of course, since they were completely corrupt–the destructors segfaulted.

Okay, fine, so I put a couple of calls at the end of my test to an outboard method that did this:

QPixmap exemplar;
memcpy (&dashboard.Icon, &exemplar, sizeof (dashboard.Icon));

Write the guts of a real Icon back over all the 1 bits when we’re finished with the corrupted Icon, and the destructor works just fine.

My reviewer didn’t like it, though: he pointed out that I was restoring the QPixmap from a completely different object, and while that might work okay right now on my machine with this version of Qt and this compiler, modifying any of those variables might change that.

So, okay, fine, I modified things so that corrupting each dashboard copied its Icon contents to a buffer first, from which they were then restored just before calling the destructor.  Still works great.

So: this is obviously not the right way to write the test, because Qt shouldn’t be segfaulting in my face at every turn.  Something’s wrong.

But it works!  The code is covered, and if somebody reflexively adds Icon to Dashboard’s business equals, a test will show him that it doesn’t belong there.

I felt like Qt had been flipping me the bird all day, receding tauntingly before me as I pursued it; but finally I was able to grab it by the throat and beat it into bloody submission anyway.  (Does that sound a little hostile?  Great: it felt a little hostile when I did it.)  I’m ashamed of the test, but proud of the victory.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

